引言 

电机在我们周围随处可见,如在洗衣机和冰箱等家用电器中,以及在汽车和飞机等交通工具中。没有电机,我们就无法享受诸多普通的现代化便利。第一台电机是19世纪初由Werner von Siemens、Thomas Alva Edison、Nikola Tesla和George Westinghouse等历史人物和公司创始人发明的。现在很难想象没有电机的日常生活。

但也许更重要的是工业中的电机,例如改进了用于制造消费品的装配线传送带的电机和汽车工业中使用的自动焊接机中的电机。电机在医疗、航空航天和可再生能源等其他重要领域也发挥着重要作用。电机有两种主要应用。第一种应用是电机连接到电网并以固定的转速运行。第二种广泛的应用需要电机以不同的转速和不同的扭矩运行。该应用需要在电网和电机之间放置功率转换装置,该装置通常称为变频驱动器(VFD)。

电网与变频驱动器 

终端应用决定了机是否需要通过VFD运行,或者仅通过具有固定频率的电网运行。 固定频率电网驱动应用的例子有移动介质而不需要调整介质转速的泵和风扇,以及采矿工业中使用的一些传送带。

在一些应用中,介质需要以不同的转速流动或者需要调节介质的压力。阀门、阻尼器或齿轮箱可以调整这些参数中的一些参数,但有许多缺点,因为在这种情况下固定频率电网驱动电机总是提供全功率,而且大部分功率转换成热量。因此,许多应用浪费了大量的电能,因为这些不受控制的电机不是以其最佳转速和扭矩运行,而这些最佳转速和扭矩需要驱动的负载或提供的功来确定。

为了克服这些功率损耗,需要采用变频驱动器。利用这些功率转换装置,可以在宽范围内调节电机的转速和扭矩,以满足不同应用的需要。从技术角度来看,最重要的两个参数是决定电机转速的电压频率和决定电机的扭矩的电流。在商业上,节省能源和成本已经成为VFD越来越受欢迎的主要原因,VFD通常具有投资回收期短的特点。

通常,从固定交流电压到变频交流电压的能量转换过程如下:

Conversion steps of a variable frequency drive
变频驱动器的主要转换步骤

VFD中最重要的转换步骤是直流转交流。将直流电压转换回交流电压的常见解决方案是使用脉冲宽度调制(PWM)技术,通常需要正弦调制波和三角载波。三角载波称为开关频率,对于高功率驱动器在几百赫兹,而对于低功率驱动器而言大约为20 000赫兹。正弦波是由逆变器的控制电路产生的参考,并且将是电机运行的频率。通过比较三角载波和参考正弦波,VFD输出脉冲宽度调制的矩形电压,并且在正弦波和三角波的每个交叉处改变其极性。调制的矩形电压驱动电机,并产生具有类似三角载波频率的高频纹波电流的正弦波电机电流。

线性运行 vs VFD运行 

[使用VFD运行电机具有几项优点。

连接电网的交流电动机的起动电流可以在其额定电流的3倍和8倍之间变化。这是因为需要大量的电流来磁化电机以克服其惯性。这个高电流必须由电网提供,可能导致电压降和瞬变等问题,在一些情况下甚至会导致关机。这些高电流还在电机的转子线棒和绕组上产生机械应力。 VFD在零电压和零频率下启动电机,电流通常在满载电机电流的50%至75%之间。

由于电机的功率由电压乘电流决定,因此与直接连接到电网的电机相比,通过使用VFD,启动期间的功率需求低得多。如果在电网或VFD上的负载功率需求相同,则在启动时尤其如此。如果公司在现有电气安装系统的功率限制下,新安装没有VFD的机器可能产生无法支持的高启动电流,迫使运营商升级其电气系统以承载这些峰值电流。此外,一些公司需要为电力公司提供的峰值功率支付额外的费用。 VFD是解决这些启动浪涌电流问题的良好解决方案。

电机启动引起的高输入电流会造成线路上产生电压降。这些低电压下降可能会让一些敏感的设备访问离线。例如,众所周知,计算机、传感器和接触器对电压较敏感,在线路低压时可能关机。VFD的使用消除了这一问题,因为电机以零电压/低输入电流启动,逐渐加大。此外,电机直接从电网运行,电压下降时,电机轴的转速和转矩会发生变化。这在生产过程中是很不希望出现的。控制驱动器的设计可以降低对电网电压变化的敏感程度,提高电动机的“度过”能力。

通过电网直接启动电会对电机和连接到电机的分布系统产生很大的机械应力,产生机械冲击。VFD可以以定义的速度让电机加速,将冲击降低至可以忽略的水平。在某些应用中,不使用平滑的变速控制将机器加速到最大功率和转速是不可能或不可接受的。

VFD最重要的优点是能够根据整个应用的需要调整电机转速。第二个最重要的优点是其调整电机扭矩的能力。这是一个非常好的功能,它可以保护电机和电机驱动的系统免受损坏,因为可以限制或精确调整扭矩。此外,控制电机的扭矩可以节省相当大的功率。例如,由于该系统的立方根转速 - 功率关系,连接到风扇的VFD驱动电机以半速运行时仅消耗其额定功率的1/8。

电机受控制的停止或制动与其受控的加速一样重要。 VFD的最大优点可以在电梯和输送带的制动中实现。许多其它应用对电机的这种制动或反向运行有极大兴趣。通过VFD改变电机中的旋转场,不必改变电机相电缆的顺序,就可以进行反向运行。 VFD也消除了对阀门、阻尼器和齿轮箱的需要,实现了更紧凑的系统,更低的维护和运行成本。

用于功率转换的主要元件 

VFD中重要的元件有:用于纠正交流输入电压的功率整流二极管,用于消散电机的在制动产生的再生能量和保护直流链支撑电容器免受损坏的制动斩波器,以及用于将整流输入电压转换回控制变量电压和变频输出的功率半导体开关。整流二极管的要求不太高,因为整流二极管以输入线路频率(50Hz或60 Hz)运行,可从许多供应商获得。用于直流到交流转换级的元件的要求需要仔细考虑,因为这些功率半导体开关在高电压、高电流条件下使用,并以高频率进行切换。通常使用IGBT作为半导体开关,因为IGBT针对这些应用进行了优化,IGBT设计师熟悉这些工业应用。

结论 

如果没有变频驱动器提供的便利,现代生活是无法想象的。采用VFD,感应电机可以调整自己的转速和扭矩,励磁涌流降低很多,很容易实现反向运行。VFD提供最重要的优势是更低的系统运营成本,没有额外的机械组件,以及节省电能。总之,感应电机和变频驱动器为我们的日常生活带来了极大的便利,为我们提供了更高效和更清洁的环境。

Introduction of industrial motor drive applications 

Electric motors are all around us in appliances such as washing machines and refrigerators, and in transportation modes such as cars and in planes. We would not have many of the common modern conveniences we enjoy every day without electrical motors. The first motors were invented in the early 19th century by historical figures and company founders such as Werner von Siemens, Thomas Alva Edison, Nikola Tesla and George Westinghouse. Without electric motors everyday life would be very difficult to imagine.

But maybe even more important are the motors in industry which facilitated the assembly line conveyor belts used to manufacture consumer products and the motors designed into the automated welders used in the car industry. Motors also play important roles in other important sectors such as medical, aerospace, and renewable energy. There are two major applications where electrical motors are used. The first application is where motors are connected to the grid and are operated at a fixed rotor speed. The second is the wide application where motors need to be operated at different speeds and different torques.  This application requires a power conversion unit to be placed between the grid and the motor and is usually known as a variable frequency drive (VFD).

Grid versus variable frequency drive 

The end application determines if a motor needs to be operated by a VFD or just by the grid with a fixed frequency. Examples of fixed frequency grid driven applications are pumps or fans that move a medium without the need to adjust the medium's speed and some conveyor belts used in the mining industry.

In some applications, the medium needs to flow with different speeds or the pressure of the medium needs to be adjusted. Valves, dampers or gear boxes can adjust some of these parameters but with a lot of drawbacks because the fixed frequency grid driven motor always delivers full power in this case and a significant portion of power is converted into heat. Therefore in many applications, a large percentage of the electric energy is wasted because these uncontrolled motors are not operated at their optimum speed and torque which is determined by the load or work required to be delivered.

To overcome these power losses, variable frequency drives are used. With these power conversion devices, the speed and the torque of the motor can be adjusted within a wide range to meet the needs of different applications. The most important two parameters from a technical perspective are the voltage frequency determining the motor speed and the supported current which results in the motor's delivered torque. Commercially, energy and cost savings have been the major reasons for the increasing popularity of VFDs which typically are characterized by short payback periods.

Usually the energy conversion process from a fixed AC voltage to a variable AC voltage is as follows:

Conversion steps of a variable frequency drive
Conversion steps of a variable frequency drive

The most important conversion step in a VFD is the DC to AC inversion stage. A common solution to invert the DC voltage back to an AC voltage is the use of a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) technique which normally requires a sinusoidal modulating wave and a triangular carrier wave. The triangular carrier wave is known as the switching frequency and varies between some hundred Hertz for high power drives to approximately 20 000 Hertz for lower power drives. The sine wave is a reference generated by the inverter's control circuitry and will be the frequency at which the motor will operate. By comparing triangular carrier and the reference sinusoidal waves, a pulse width modulated rectangle voltage will be the output of the VFD which changes its polarity at each crossing of the sinusoidal wave and the triangular wave. The modulated rectangular voltage drives the motor and results in a sine wave motor current with a high frequency ripple current similar to the triangular carrier's frequency.

Line operation versus VFD operation 

Several advantages are experienced when a VFD is used to operate a motor.

The starting current of a grid connected AC motor can vary between 3 and 8 times its nominal current. This is because a huge amount of current is needed to magnetize the motor to overcome its inertia. This high current has to be provided by the grid and can cause issues such as voltage drops and transients and in some cases even a shutdown. These high currents also create mechanical stresses on the motor's rotor bars and windings. A VFD starts the motor at zero voltage and zero frequency and typically requires between 50 % to 75 % of the motor's current under full load.

As the motor's power is defined by its voltage times its current, the power demand during start-up is much lower by using a VFD compared to a motor which is directly connected to the grid. This is especially true at start-up if the load power demand is the same on grid or with a VFD. If a company is at its power limit with its existing electrical installation system, new installed machines without VFDs can generate unsupportable high start-up currents and force these operators to upgrade their electrical systems to carry these peak currents. Also, some companies are charged extra for the peak power provided by the electrical utility. A VFD is a good solution to resolve these start-up surge current issues.

Motor start-up causes a high input current which causes a voltage drop on the line. Some sensitive equipment can trip offline due to these low voltage drops. For example, computers, sensors and contactors are known to be voltage sensitive and can drop out during low line conditions. The use of a VFD eliminates this issue as the motor starts with zero voltage/low input current and ramps up. Also, a speed and torque change appears on the motor's shaft when the voltage drops and the motor is operated directly from the grid. This might be quite unwanted in some manufacturing processes. Controlled drives can be designed to be less sensitive to grid voltage changes enhancing the “ride-through” capability of the motor.

An immediate motor start through the grid creates a huge mechanical stress to the motor and to the distribution system connected to the motor resulting in mechanical shocks. A VFD can accelerate the motor with a defined ramp reducing shocks to a negligible level. In some applications it is not possible or acceptable to accelerate the machine to its maximum power and speed without a smooth controlled ramp.

The most important advantage of a VFD is its ability to adjust the motor speed to the needs of the whole application. The second most important advantage is its ability to adjust the motor's torque. This is quite a nice feature which protects the motor and the system driven by the motor from damage as the torque can be limited or precisely adjusted. Also, power savings can be considerable by being able to control the motor's torque. For example, a VFD driven motor connected to a fan will only consume 1/8th of its rated power when operating at half speed due to the cube root speed-to-power relationship of this system.

The controlled stopping or braking of a motor can be as important as its controlled acceleration. The greatest advantages of VFDs are realized in the braking of elevators and conveyer belts. This braking or reverse operation of motors is of great interest in many other applications. Reverse operation is possible by changing the rotary field in the motor by the VFD without having to change the order of the phase cables to the motor. VFD's also eliminate the need for vales, dampers and gear boxes. This leads to more compact systems, lower maintenance and lower operating costs.

Main components used for power conversion 

The important components inside a VFD are the power rectifier diodes used to rectify the AC input voltage, the brake chopper which is used to dissipate the regenerated energy from the motor during braking and protects the DC link capacitor from damage, and the power semiconductor switches used to convert the rectified input voltage back to a controlled variable voltage and variable frequency output. The requirements of the rectifier diodes are not that great since these devices operate at the input line frequency (50 Hz or 60 Hz) and are available from many suppliers. Requirements for the components used for the DC to AC conversion stage need to be considered carefully as these power semiconductor switches are used at high voltage and high currents and switched at high frequencies. Usually IGBTs are used as the semiconductor switches due to their optimization for these applications and designer familiarity for these industrial applications.

Conclusion 

Modern life is unthinkable without the benefits provided by variable frequency drives. With VFDs, induction motors can have their speed and torque adjusted, inrush currents are much lower and reverse operation is easily implemented. The most important advantages VFDs provide are lower system operating costs, the absence of additional mechanic components and savings in electrical energy. All in all induction motors and variable frequency drives contributed to our daily convenience and provide us with a more efficient and cleaner environment.