用于嵌入式驱动应用的高度集成和超紧凑型功率模块 

嵌入式驱动电路包含一个输入整流器、一个PFC升压器和一个三相输出逆变器。根据具体应用,该电路所用模块的最佳选择是高度集成IPM(智能功率模块)或非常灵活的PIM(功率集成模块)。IPM还包含用于功率开关的逻辑组件和栅极驱动。PIM只提供了功率组件,因此栅极驱动必须安装在系统的PCB中。

对嵌入在泵机、压缩机、风扇和其他类似应用中电子控制电动机的两大关键要求是:

  • 功率因数校正(PFC):对连接到公共电网的驱动强制要求使用PFC。
  • 密封式电动机集成:密封式集成电动机需要紧凑的设计和热管理。采用有限的内部空间和密封设计,防止任何气流与系统PCB板上的组件产生接触。必须通过连接的散热器对栅极驱动、分流电阻等类似组件产生的热量进行散热。

IPM 

需要智能功率模块(IPM)来实现此类设计必需的功能整合和功率密度。IPM集成的程度各不相同。标准IPM至少含有一个简单的三相逆变桥,并配有兼容的栅极驱动。如果加入更多的集成模块,工程师可以创造出更加紧凑的设计,并充分利用功率元件和栅极驱动电路的有效组合,这也是逆变器设计中最关键的元件。从而缓解电路设计相关风险、加快发展和缩短上市时间。

凭借厚膜技术的优势,可以将功率半导体、集成电路、集成到底板上的SMD和电阻组合在一起,从而从最大程度上提高新flowIPM 1B功率模块的功能集成。该设计结合了带有有源功率因数校正(APFC)的所有三相逆变器有源功率组件,包括对感应涡流进行补偿的电容器,用于感应电流的分流器,周围电路可以用作分压器的PFC控制器以及DC电容器。

用两个外部电阻对PFC频率和输出电压进行编程。如果逆变器使用的外部微控制器还需要控制PFC,则可以提供只配有PFC开关栅极驱动的版本。这可能需要负电源和用于PFC电流信号的放大器。微控制器的接地位于PFC分流电阻的正极。不能对微控制器进行直接连接。因为可选用压接互连,工程师在设计目标应用时拥有了更大余地。此外,功率模块具有更广泛的功能集成,从而将研发工作从驱动开发人员转移到模块制造商。驱动的制造商不仅在开发中投入的精力更少,而且在定义功能和校准开关特性时的灵活性得到显著提高。

PIM (CIP) 

设计用于4千赫PWM频率的应用和16千赫应用并不相同,必须以不同方式对它们的过滤功能和开关损耗进行优化。基于矢量控制的逆变器需要投入更多努力来评测电流信号。只有功率组件——输入整流器、PFC升压器和三相输出逆变器——集成在PIM模块中。栅极驱动电路和其他逻辑电路必须安装在外部PCB中。提供了一个集成DC电容器,以降低电感并实现PFC开关的超快速断开。

这些模块中一些版本为PFC或逆变器控制的感应电流提供了分流电阻,。下部开关的发射器为开放式结构,因此可以连接三个外部分流电阻以进行基于矢量控制的逆变器设计。温度传感器在模块位置提供散热器温度。

Vincotech嵌入式驱动的产品组合 

嵌入式驱动系统中的空间非常有限,而且它们的紧凑式密封设计使这么多电子元件产生的热量很难消散。

Vincotech的嵌入式驱动功率模块产品组合采用600V和1200V的智能功率模块(IPM)以及带有PFC电路的功率集成模块(PIM+PFC),可以达到当今市场上所有功率模块的最高集成水平。从而使这些模块成为有限空间机械环境的最佳解决方案。

除了输入滤波器、DC电容器和微控制器以外,可以对所有电机驱动的功能块进行集成,缩小系统的尺寸、降低成本和缩短上市时间。

成本分析——flowIPM vs处于离散和竞争状态的IPM
成本分析——flowIPM vs处于离散和竞争状态的IPM

调整保护电路以匹配电源设备的容电量,并通过工厂测试保护电路以提高系统的可靠性。凭借高度集成组件和功率裸芯片,可以带来远远小于离散设计的足迹,从而节约大量空间。

凭借更少的外部组件和智能隔离技术,对电动机驱动装置总成进行了改进和简化。在厚膜技术中使用了陶瓷板,尽可能地为功率元件提供最佳的直接冷却,从而提高了模块的热性能。

Vincotech的嵌入式驱动功率模块采用超紧凑式外壳,可以配备压接插针。由于压接技术不再需要进行焊接,因此可以显著减少PCB的装配时间和人工。从而减少了加工时间和成本,提高了产量。

模块的蠕变和净距离符合适用的工业标准。对散热器形状没有特殊要求。

通过预先应用相变材料,显著提高了功率模块和散热器之间的热互连。Vincotech的内部丝网印刷工艺能以超高精度进行材料堆积,从而达到适当厚度。可以通过材料优化从最大程度上提高传热能力。

结论 

Vincotech的产品组合提供了工程师设计嵌入式驱动系统时所需的功能集成和功率密度。通过Vincotech的智能功率模块,实现超高集成水平,从而帮助系统工程师带来更紧凑的设计,并充分利用功率元件和栅极驱动电路的有效组合,这也是逆变器设计中最关键的元件。降低了电路设计相关风险,提高开发速度,并显著缩短上市时间。

Highly Integrated and Ultra Compact Power Modules for Embedded Drive Applications 

picture 2

An embedded drive circuit consists of an input rectifier, PFC boost stage and a three-phase output inverter. Depending on the application, the best choice of module for this circuit is a highly integrated IPM (intelligent power module) or a very flexible PIM (power integrated module). The IPM also has the logic components and gate drives required for power switches. The PIM provides just the power components so the gate drive has to be mounted on the system's PCB.

Two key requirements for electronically controlled motors embedded in pumps, compressors, fans and other such applications are:

  • Power factor correction (PFC): PFC is mandatory for drives connected to the public power grid.
  • Hermetic motor integration: A hermetically sealed, integrated motor requires a compact design and thermal management. Interior space is limited and a hermetic seal prevents any airflow from reaching components on the system's PCB board. The heat generated by gate drives, shunt resistors and the like has to be dissipated by a connected heat sink.

IPM 

picture 1

Intelligent power modules (IPMs) are needed to achieve the functional integration and power density necessary for this type of design. The extent to which IPMs are integrated varies. At the minimum, a standard IPM features a simple three-phase inverter bridge with a compatible gate driver. With more extensive integrated modules, engineers can create more compact designs and take advantage of a proven combination of power components and gate driver circuit, the most critical elements in the inverter's design. This mitigates the risk associated with circuit design, speeds up development and slashes time to market.

Power semiconductors, integrated circuits, SMDs and resistors integrated into the substrate can all be combined with the benefit of thick-film technology, thereby maximizing the new flowIPM 1B power modules' functional integration. This design incorporates all active power components for a three-phase inverter with active power factor correction (APFC), including capacitors to compensate for inductive loops, shunts for sensing current, a PFC controller with its surrounding circuit to serve as a voltage divider, and DC capacitors.

The PFC frequency and output voltage are programmed using two external resistors. A version equipped with just the PFC switch gate driver is available if the external microcontroller used for the inverter is to also control PFC. This may require a negative supply and an amplifier for the PFC current signal. The microcontroller's ground connection is on the positive side of the PFC shunt resistor. A direct connection to the microcontroller is not possible. The optional Press-fit interconnection affords engineers greater leeway in designing the target application. What is more, the power module's more extensive functional integration shifts the R&D effort from the drive's developer to the module manufacturer. The drive's manufacturer has to invest far less effort in development, yet enjoys far greater flexibility in defining functions and calibrating switching behavior

PIM (CIP) 

picture 2

An application designed for a 4-kHz PWM frequency and for a 16-kHz application are not created equal, and their filter effort and switching loss have to be optimized in different ways. A vector control-based inverter requires more effort to measure current signals. Only the power components – the input rectifier, PFC boost stage and three-phase output inverter – are integrated in PIM modules. The gate drive circuit and other logic circuits have to be mounted on the external PCB. An integrated DC capacitor is provided to reduce inductance and enable ultra fast turn-off for the PFC switch.

Some versions of these modules provide a shunt resistor to sense current for PFC or inverter control. The emitter structure in the low-side switches is open so three external shunt resistors may be connected for vector control-based inverter designs. A temperature sensor provides the heat sink temperature at the module's position.

Vincotech’s product portfolio for embedded drives 

Space is tight in embedded drive systems, and their compact, hermetical design makes it difficult to dissipate the heat generated by so many electronic components.

Vincotech’s power module portfolio for embedded drives features 600V and 1200V intelligent power modules (IPMs) as well as power integrated modules with PFC circuits (PIM+PFC) that achieve the highest level of integration of any power module available on the market today. And that makes these modules the best solution for space-constrained mechanical environments.

The overall system's size, cost, and time to market can be reduced by integrating all of a motor drive's functional blocks, apart from the input filter, DC capacitor and microcontroller.

Cost analysis – flowIPM vs. discrete and competing IPM
Cost analysis – flowIPM vs. discrete and competing IPM

Protection circuitry is tuned to match the power device's capability and factory-tested to improve the system's reliability. A great deal of space is saved with highly integrated components and bare power chips to achieve a much smaller footprint than that of discrete designs.

Motor drive assembly is streamlined and simplified with fewer external components and smart isolation techniques. The ceramic sheet used in thick-film technology improves the module's thermal performance by providing the best possible direct cooling for power components.

Vincotech’s power modules for embedded drives come in very compact housings that can be equipped with Press-fit pins. Press-fit technology reduces PCB assembly time and effort considerably by eliminating the need for soldering. This cuts process time and costs, and boosts production output.

The module's creepage and clearance distances fulfill the applicable industrial standards. There are no special requirements regarding the shape of the heat sink.

The thermal interconnection between the power module and the heat sink is vastly improved by pre-applying phase-change material. Vincotech’s in-house screen-printing process deposits the material with great precision to achieve the proper thickness. The material can be optimized for maximum heat transfer capability.

Conclusion 

Vincotech’s product portfolio provides the functional integration and power density that engineers need to design embedded drive systems. The outstanding level of integration achieved by Vincotech’s intelligent power modules enables system engineers to come up with more compact designs and to take advantage of a proven combination of power components and gate drive circuits, which happen to be the most critical elements in the inverter’s design. This mitigates the risk associated with circuit design, speeds up development, and dramatically reduces time to market.