电动汽车充电器 

得益于政府的大力支持和电动乘用车的消费者的日益青睐,电动汽车(EV)市场已经进入快速增长阶段。最新的预测表明,到2021年,电动汽车(即混合动力、插电式混合动力和全电动汽车)将占新车销量的30%。

道路上电动汽车数量增长产生的一个影响是公共和私人充电点数量也将快速增长。电动汽车驾驶员将会目睹充电基础设施的迅速发展,包括在街道上、工作场所和其他公共场所的充电站,驾驶员家中的低功率充电站和燃料加注站的超高功率快速充电站。与安装在车辆内部的车载充电器相对,驾驶员可以将电动汽车连接到的这些静态充电点也称为非车载充电器,可以通过普通的120V / 240V墙上插座或者充电点供电。

充电点的功率输送能力通常按级别分类,其中1级是最低功率充电器,3级是最高功率充电器。

Power Level TypesCharger LocationTypical UsePower LevelVehicle Technology

Level 1

120 Vac (US)

230 Vac (EU)

On-board

1phase

Home/office

1.4 kW
(12 A)

1.9 kW
(20 A)

PHEVs
(5-15 kWh)

Evs
(16-50 kWh)

Level 2

240 Vac (US)

400 Vac (EU)

On-board

1phase or 3phase

Private or public outlets

4 kW
(17 A)

8 kW
(32 A)

19.2 kW
(80 A)

PHEVs
(5-15 kWh)

EVs
(16-50 kWh)

EVs
(3-50 kWh)

Level 3

208-600 Vdc

Off-board

3phase

Commercial, same as a gas station

50 kW

100 kW

EVs
(20-50 kWh)

增长预测(图)为非车载电动汽车充电器制造商带来了巨大的全球性机遇。该市场今天仍处于起步阶段,高度分散,可以支持大量制造商。随着时间的推移,整合是不可避免的。那么在争夺市场份额的过程中,哪些因素将决定哪些公司是赢家,哪些是输家呢?

至少在一定程度上,这将取决于供应商对客户要求做出最佳和最快响应。高价值非车载充电器的客户大多数情况下是大型组织:

  • 高速公路当局或其他负责建设电动汽车基础设施的政府组织

  • 车辆服务提供商,如燃料(燃气)站运营商和公路(高速公路)服务站运营商

  • 电力公司

这些客户的主要要求是:

  • 高功率效率。通过提高效率和降低转换损耗,客户可以控制其能源成本,能源成本占其运营成本的大部分,此外还要最大限度地减少与提供电力相关的二氧化碳排放。

  • 尽可能低的购买(资本)成本,同时保持特定水平的质量和可靠性。

这些要求定义了充电器制造商之间战斗的基础,让设计下一代电动汽车充电器的工程团队需要作出至关重要的战略决策,即是在非车载电动汽车充电器的三个功率级中的每一级中实现功率电路的最佳方式:输入PFC(功率因数校正)级,转换器级和输出整流器级。

功率半导体的持续创新

如果客户的优先要求是高功率效率,在所有类型电源系统中效率改进的主要驱动力是半导体技术。

如英飞凌、意法半导体、飞兆半导体、ROHM半导体和Wolfspeed等先进功率半导体制造商在半导体材料和电路拓扑结构领域不断创新,不断推出新产品,如IGBT、MOSFET和二极管,大大提高了效率以及其他运行参数。

高性能碳化硅(SiC)半导体材料的商业化等突破带来了MOSFET和二极管性能的快速改进。 SiC是功率IC制造商接近理想的半导体材料。与硅相比,SiC:

  • 使器件能够更快地切换,能够使用更小、更便宜的无源组件
  • 具有更低的开关损耗,实现更高效的电源转换操作
  • 可以承受更高的工作温度,实现较小散热器的用户,降低主机系统的尺寸和物料清单成本

半导体制造商在材料(例如SiC)及其新推出的许多产品中不断创新,为充电器制造商提供了满足客户对更高功率效率的需求的方法。但制造商的问题是,利用不断进入市场的新型功率IC的优势同时保持严格的成本控制的最好的方法是什么?

快速、低成本地进行新型充电器设计 

运行模式可以帮助电动汽车充电器制造商缩短产品升级周期

这对于充电器原始设备制造商来说是一个战略问题:他们将受益于长期致力于升级产品的具体计划。

充电器原始设备制造商的问题是,功率IC的领先技术并不受单个供应商的控制。在任何时候,用于特定应用的最高效功率IC可能由英飞凌、意法半导体或另一家半导体制造商制造。

为了优化产品的效率,充电器制造商需要不断地修改和升级设计以集成最新的新组件。但是,推出全新产品设计相关的开发和生产成本非常高。这通常限制了原始设备制造商向市场推出新产品的频率。

但是,如果新型功率IC可以每三个月集成到充电器设计中,几乎没有开发或生产成本呢?

这是Vincotech系列功率模块的承诺,Vincotech系列功率模块包含支持在高功率非车载充电器的三个功率级中使用的具有各种拓扑结构的产品。充电器原始设备制造商采用功率模块已经很常见。通过采用模块实现功率电路,而不是由原始设备制造商自己使用分立IC和其他组件开发的“本地生产”电路,原始设备制造商可以获得以下好处:

提高PFC级的效率,降低成本 

新型对称三相PFC功率模块flowSPFC 0旨在提供高达99.2%的极高效率,并以非常低的价格进行销售。 该PFC模块是电动汽车充电器应用中的第一个构建部分:此级的最佳规格可以帮助整个系统设计节约成本。 flowSPFC 0的工作开关频率高达75 kHz,基于采用最新双极晶体管技术制造的超快速高效IGBT。 

flowSPFC 0采用紧凑、低电感的flow 0封装,可以提供各种最大电流额定值,使该模块适用于多种应用。

新型全桥帮助应用更快地进行切换 

新型fastPACK 0 SiC功率模块是全桥产品新系列中速度更快、温度更低、更高效的代表产品。 在该模块中,Vincotech集成了900 V SiC MOSFET,该MOSFET开关性能优于1200 V SiC MOSFET,并且比650 V MOSFET具有更高的安全裕度。 此功率模块支持高达400 kHz的应用切换,还实现比同类IGBT解决方案更高的效率,轻负载时效率提高8%,满负载时提高3%。 

fastPACK 0 SiC功率模块采用紧凑型低电感flow0封装,具有压接引脚,可实现高电气性能,降低EMI,而且易于在生产线上进行组装。

除了这款旗舰900 V功率模块,Vincotech还提供完整的650 V和1200 V IGBT,硅MOS和SiC MOS模块产品组合,涵盖所有运行条件和设计。

  • 模块允许原始设备制造商更快地推出产品,因为模块提供了完整、现成的功率电路,可以直接加入到产品设计中
  • 模块配有完整的文档,并经过测试和验证,因此在应用中可提供有保证的性能,消除开发风险
  • 模块在单个高热效率封装中组合了多个电源组件。这使得工具和生产比塞满多个分立部件的系统更简单、更便宜。模块还简化了制造商的供应链,大大减少了供应商和组件数量。

当使用Vincotech或任何其他信誉良好的模块制造商的模块时,充电器原始设备制造商可以获得所有这些好处。但Vincotech解决了充电器制造商的关键问题:如何在充电器设计中低成本快速地采用最新、最高效的功率半导体?

这一论述有两个关键要素:第一,Vincotech独立于供应商。不像意法半导体、飞兆半导体和ROHM半导体等模块制造商,Vincotech不仅仅局限于使用同一品牌的功率IC。相反,Vincotech可以使用市场上任何制造商提供的最好的半导体。

第二,Vincotech长期保持战略产品平台。在每个平台内,每个模块共享共同的封装和引脚。这意味着Vincotech模块的用户可以用新的升级模块替换现有设计中的旧模块,而很少或不需要重新设计电路板或使用新工具或更改组装。

为了使充电器制造商能够快速采用新型半导体技术,Vincotech执行每季度产品升级计划,几乎在制造商推出这些IC时就将新推出的IC集成到其模块产品系列中。作为专业功率模块制造商,Vincotech可以承担这种较短产品开发周期相关的成本,将成本分摊到广泛的客户群和高产量中。

作为高度集成功率系统设计和实施的专家,Vincotech拥有丰富的经验和专业知识,可以优化常用功率拓扑结构的性能,而且还可以利用半导体制造商开发的新拓扑结构。图示说明了Vincotech领先服务和技术的要素(图)。

这种运行模式使Vincotech提供的模块采用最新的半导体技术,具有市场领先的效率。针对非车载电动汽车充电器的最新Vincotech模块的规格便说明了这一点,规格描述如下。

总结 

新产品设计采用Vincotech提供的战略平台,充电器原始设备制造商可以利用最新、最高效的半导体技术不断升级产品,不会产生通常与较短产品生命周期相关的高开发和生产成本。 以上内容介绍了采用最新SiC和硅半导体技术的新型Vincotech模块。

Vincotech平台让充电器原始设备制造商与采用较旧技术,产品推出速度较慢的竞争对手相比具有优势。

通过对Vincotech模块进行标准化,充电器原始设备制造商可以最大限度地提高设计、生产和供应链效率,从充电器制造市场未来几年中的整合浪潮中受益。

Chargers for Electric Vehicles 

The market for electric vehicles (EVs) has entered a phase of fast growth, boosted by a combination of vigorous support from governments and growing consumer appreciation for electric passenger vehicles. The latest forecasts suggest that EVs (that is, hybrid electric, plug-in hybrids and fully electric vehicles) will account for 30 % of new car sales by the year 2021.

A consequence of this growth in EV numbers on the road is that the number of public and private charging points will also grow fast. EV drivers will see a rapid build-out of charging infrastructure, including charging posts on-street and at workplaces and other public locations, low-power charging units at drivers’ homes, and very high-power fast-charge units at fuel filling stations. These static charging points to which a driver can connect their EV are also called off-board chargers, in contrast to the on-board chargers mounted inside a vehicle, which may be supplied with power by an ordinary 120 V/240 V wall socket or by a charging point.

The power delivery capability of charging points is commonly classed by reference to levels, with level 1 being the lowest-power charger, and level 3 the highest.

Power Level TypesCharger LocationTypical UsePower LevelVehicle Technology

Level 1

120 Vac (US)

230 Vac (EU)

On-board

1phase

Home/office

1.4 kW
(12 A)

1.9 kW
(20 A)

PHEVs
(5-15 kWh)

Evs
(16-50 kWh)

Level 2

240 Vac (US)

400 Vac (EU)

On-board

1phase or 3phase

Private or public outlets

4 kW
(17 A)

8 kW
(32 A)

19.2 kW
(80 A)

PHEVs
(5-15 kWh)

EVs
(16-50 kWh)

EVs
(3-50 kWh)

Level 3

208-600 Vdc

Off-board

3phase

Commercial, same as a gas station

50 kW

100 kW

EVs
(20-50 kWh)

The growth forecast (figure) has given rise to a huge, and global, opportunity for manufacturers of off-board EV chargers. Still in its infancy, this market is today highly fragmented, and supports a large number of manufacturers. Over time, consolidation is inevitable. So which factors will determine which companies are the winners and which the losers in the battle for market share?

At least in part, this will be a matter of which suppliers respond best and quickest to customers’ requirements. The customers for high-value off-board chargers are, for the most part, large organizations:

  • Highway authorities or other governmental organizations responsible for sponsoring the build-out of EV infrastructure
  • Vehicle service providers such as fuel (gas) station operators and highway (motorway) service station operators
  • Electric utilities

These customers’ primary requirements are for:

  • High power efficiency. By maximizing efficiency and minimizing conversion losses, customers can control their energy cost, which makes up a large proportion of their operating expenses, and minimize the CO2 emissions associated with generating the electricity they provide.
  • The lowest possible purchase (capital) cost while maintaining a specified level of quality and reliability.

These requirements define the ground on which the battle between charger manufacturers will be fought. And this brings into the spotlight a strategic decision of crucial importance to the engineering teams designing the next generations of EV chargers. This decision is over the best way to implement the power circuit in each of the three power stages of an off-board EV charger: the input PFC (power factor correction) stage, the converter stage and the output rectifier stage.
 

Continual innovation in power semiconductors

If a priority for customers is high power efficiency, the principal driver of efficiency improvements in all types of power systems is semiconductor technology.

Advanced power semiconductor manufacturers such as Infineon, STMicroelectronics, Fairchild, ROHM Semiconductor and Wolfspeed are constantly innovating both in the fields of semiconductor materials and of circuit topologies, and continually introduce new products – such as IGBTs, MOSFETs and diodes – which offer incremental improvements in efficiency, as well as in other operating parameters.

Breakthroughs such as the commercialization of the high-performance silicon carbide (SiC) semiconductor material are bringing rapid improvement to the operation of MOSFETs and diodes. SiC is a near-ideal semiconductor material for the manufacturers of power ICs. Compared to silicon, it:

  • Enables devices to switch faster, enabling the use of smaller, cheaper passive components
  • Suffers from lower switching losses, resulting in more efficient power-conversion operation
  • Withstands higher operating temperatures, which enables the user of smaller heat sinks, reducing the host system’s size and bill-of-materials cost

The semiconductor manufacturers' continual innovation in materials such as SiC, and their many new product introductions provide charger manufacturers with a means to meet customers’ demand for ever higher power efficiency. But the question for the manufacturers is, what is the best way to take advantage of the stream of new, improved power ICs that continually come on to the market, while maintaining tight cost control?

Rapid, low-cost implementation of new charger designs 

The Vincotech operating model helps EV charger manufacturers to implement short product upgrade cycles.

This is a strategic question for charger OEMs: they will benefit from a long-term commitment to a specific plan for upgrading their products.

The problem for the charger OEM is that technology leadership in power ICs is not in the grip of a single supplier. At any given time, the most efficient power IC for any given application may be manufactured by STMicroelectronics, by Infineon, or by another semiconductor manufacturer.

In order to optimize the efficiency of their products, then, charger manufacturers need to continually modify and upgrade their designs to incorporate the latest new components. But the development and production costs associated with the introduction of brand-new product designs are very high. Normally, this limits the frequency with which OEMs can introduce new products to the market.

But what if new power ICs could be integrated into a charger’s design as often as every three months, at almost no development or production cost?

This is the promise of the Vincotech family of power modules, which includes products supporting various topologies used in each of the three power stages in a high-power off-board charger. The use of power modules is already common among charger OEMs. By implementing power circuits with modules, rather than ‘home-grown’ circuits developed by the OEM itself with discrete ICs and other components, OEMs gain several benefits:

Efficiency up and cost down in the PFC stage 

The new symmetric three-phase PFC power module, flowSPFC 0, is designed to deliver extremely high efficiency of up to 99.2 %, and is marketed at a remarkably low price. This PFC module is the first building block in an EV charger application: optimal specifications at this stage can help the whole system design benefit from cost savings. It enables operation at fast switching frequencies of up to 75 kHz, and is based on ultra-fast and efficient IGBTs built with the latest bipolar transistor technology.

It comes in a compact, low-inductance flow 0 housing, and offers various maximum current ratings, making this one module suitable for many applications.

New H-bridge helps applications switch faster 

The new fastPACK 0 SiC power module is the fastest representative of a new family of H-bridge products designed to be faster, cooler and more efficient. In this module, Vincotech has integrated a 900 V SiC MOSFET, which has better switching performance than 1200 V SiC MOSFETs and a higher safety margin than 650 V MOSFETs. This power module supports applications switching at up to 400 kHz. It also achieves much higher efficiency than comparable IGBT solutions, offering an 8 % increase in efficiency at light loads and a 3 % increase at full load.

It comes in a compact, low-inductance flow 0 housing with press-fit pins for high electrical performance, reduced EMI and easy assembly on the production line.

Alongside this flagship 900 V power module, Vincotech offers a complete portfolio of 650 V and 1200 V IGBT, silicon MOS and SiC MOS modules, to cover all operating conditions and designs.

  • Modules allow OEMs to get to market faster, since they provide a complete, ready-made power circuit that can be dropped into a product design
  • A module is supplied with full documentation, and is tested and verified, so it offers  guaranteed performance in the application and eliminates development risk
  • A module combines multiple power components in a single, thermally-efficient package. This makes tooling and production simpler and cheaper than a system populated with multiple discrete components. It also simplifies the manufacturer’s supply chain, dramatically reducing vendor and component count.

Charger OEMs derive all of these benefits when they use modules from Vincotech or from any other reputable module manufacturer. But Vincotech solves the crucial question for charger manufacturers: how to implement the latest, most efficient power semiconductors in charger designs rapidly, and at low cost?

There are two key elements to this proposition:
First, Vincotech is supplier-independent. Unlike module manufacturers such as STMicroelectronics, Fairchild and ROHM Semiconductor, it is not tied to the use of just the house brand of power ICs. Instead, it can use the best semiconductors available on the market, from any manufacturer.

Second, Vincotech maintains long-term, strategic product platforms. Within each platform, every module shares a common footprint and pin-out. This means that users of Vincotech modules can replace an older module with a new, upgraded module in an existing design with little or no requirement for a board re-spin or for new tooling or assembly modifications.

To enable rapid implementation of new semiconductor technology by charger manufacturers, Vincotech follows a quarterly product upgrade schedule, integrating new ICs into its module product families almost as soon as manufacturers release these ICs. As a dedicated power module manufacturer, Vincotech can bear the costs associated with this short product-development cycle, amortizing them over a broad customer base and high production volumes.

And as a specialist in the design and implementation of highly integrated power systems, Vincotech has the experience and expertise to optimize the performance of popular power topologies and to take advantage of new topologies developed by semiconductor manufacturers. The elements of its service and technology leadership are illustrated (figure).

This operating model enables Vincotech to offer the newest semiconductor technology in modules with market-leading efficiency. This is demonstrated by the specifications of the latest Vincotech modules aimed at off-board EV chargers, which are described below:

Conclusion 

By basing new product designs on a strategic platform provided by Vincotech, charger OEMs can benefit from constantly upgraded products using the latest, most efficient semiconductor technology, without incurring the high development and production costs normally associated with a short product lifecycle. New Vincotech modules featuring the latest SiC and silicon semiconductor technology are described above.

The Vincotech platform gives the charger OEM an edge over slower-moving competitors who offer products based on older technology.

By standardizing on Vincotech modules, a charger OEM can maximize his design, production and supply-chain efficiency and expect to benefit from the wave of consolidation that the charger manufacturing market is set to experience in the coming years.